Your Basket is currently empty

Your Bookshelf is empty!

Your Basket is currently empty

Deirdre Madden

Media for author Deirdre Madden
Author pictures are not to be reproduced without permission. Please refer to our Terms and Conditions for full details.

Professor Deirdre Madden is a Professor of Law at the School of Law, University College Cork. She has research interests and publications primarily in the area of medical law and ethics. She was author of the Report on Post-Mortem Practice and Procedure (2005) and Chairperson of the Commission on Patient Safety and Quality Assurance which published its Report, entitled Building a Culture of Patient Safety, in July 2008.

Professor Madden was a member of the Medical Council from 2004 - 2013 and is a current member of the Health and Social Care Professionals Council. She is also a member of a number of national expert groups related to medical law, ethics and patient safety, including the National Patient Safety Advisory Group, the Board of the National Office of Clinical Audit, the National Advisory Committee on Bioethics, HIQA's Research Advisory Group and the Expert Group on the Implementation of the ABC v Ireland judgement. Professor Madden also chaired the National Consent Advisory Group for the HSE.

In addition to participation in a number of European research projects, Professor Madden has been an Expert Evaluator on ethics for the European Commission for more than 10 years; a member of the Research Ethics Committee for the National Longitudinal Study of Children in Ireland; consultant for the National Healthcare Regulatory Authority in Bahrain; member of the National Council of the Forum on End-of-Life; and an elected Fellow of the Hastings Center in the United States. She has been a Visiting Professor at Colby College, Maine USA, St Louis University, Missouri, and the University of Sydney. She is also a frequent media commentator on issues relating to medical law and ethics.

Writes Medical Law

Author of Medicine, Ethics and the Law

Tell others about this author