Your Basket is currently empty

Your Bookshelf is empty!

Your Basket is currently empty

Lewis and Buchan: Clinical Negligence

A Practical Guide

By: Charles Lewis, Andrew Buchan
Media of Lewis and Buchan: Clinical Negligence
See larger image
Published: 31-03-2012
Format: Paperback
Edition: 7th
Extent: 876
ISBN: 9781847666734
Imprint: Bloomsbury Professional
Dimensions: 248 x 156 mm
RRP : £130.00

: UK Delivery 5-7 working days

This book is also available in other formats: View formats

Delivery & Returns

Tell others about this product

Loren Epson

About Lewis and Buchan: Clinical Negligence

Written in a clear and concise style, this new seventh edition of this popular and highly respected title has been fully updated to take account of the various important developments in legislation and case law that have occurred since the previous edition.

Practical and accessible, it provides practitioners with a structured background to the law and guidance to the various stages through which claimants and their lawyers must progress in a claim for clinical negligence. This information is supported by numerous case illustrations along with practical guidance on procedure. A 'must-have' title for all practitioners specialising in this complex area of the law.

Fully revised and updated to include:
- causation in negligence,
- human rights and clinical negligence,
- damages,
- expert evidence,
- terms of duty of care,
- detention under the Mental Capacity Act 2005,
- the Mental Capacity Act 2005, and
- the NHS Redress Act 2006.

Table Of Contents

Chapter 1 Introduction; Chapter 2 The structure of the National Health Service; Chapter 3 Non legal remedies; Chapter 4 Legal remedies; Chapter 5 The duty of care; Chapter 6 Breach of duty and strict liability; Chapter 7 Causation and damage; Chapter 8 Foreseeability and remoteness; Chapter 9 The proof of negligence; Chapter 10 Consent; Chapter 11 Wrongful birth; Chapter 12 The Congenital Disabilities Act 1976; Chapter 13 Psychiatric injury; Chapter 14 Economic loss; Chapter 15 Procedure to service of proceedings; Chapter 16 Procedure from service to trial; Chapter 17 The inquest; Chapter 18 Limitation; Chapter 19 The medical records; Chapter 20 Experts; Chapter 21 Human rights; Chapter 22 Court of Protection and issues involving capacity; Chapter 23 Wales; Chapter 24 Funding; Chapter 25 Costs.

Bookmark and Share