Your Basket is currently empty

Your Bookshelf is empty!

Your Basket is currently empty


SIEL Hart Prize


We are delighted to announce that Nneamaka Vanni has won the inaugural SIEL-Hart Prize for her thesis entitled ‘Narratives and Counter-Narratives in Pharmaceutical Patent Law Making: Experiences from 3 Developing Countries’ that was defended at Warwick University in 2017!

The winning thesis will be published within the Hart series Studies in International Trade and Investment Law.

Thank you very much to all those who entered. The prize will be awarded every 2 years so keep your eyes peeled for the next chance to enter!


The SIEL/Hart Prize is a brand new prize awarded every two years to an outstanding unpublished manuscript by an early career scholar in the field of International Economic Law.
The manuscript can be a doctoral thesis or an original, book-length piece of scholarship. The manuscript can focus on any field of, or perspective on, International Economic Law.

The prize is sponsored by Hart Publishing

The winner of the prize will receive a contract for publication within the Hart series Studies in International Trade and Investment Law and a £250 Hart book voucher

Individuals may submit a manuscript for consideration if they have completed either (1) a doctoral degree;
or (2) a law degree that satisfies the academic requirements for the relevant national bar, no earlier than ten years before the submission deadline (15th January 2018)
Co-authorship is permitted provided all authors meet the stated conditions

Submissions must include:
-    The doctoral thesis or full manuscript
-    An abstract of up to 1,000 words, including a description of the monograph's contribution vis-a-vis existing literature
-    An author CV (not longer than five pages)
-    If the manuscript is a doctoral thesis, all examiners’ reports and a detailed revision plan
Pleae note: manuscripts/theses submitted for consideration must not be under review for publication elsewhere at the time of application

The series editors of the series Studies in International Trade and Investment Law (Tomer Broude, Krista Nadakavukaren Schefer and Federico Ortino) will compile the final shortlist.
The shortlisted submissions will undergo peer-review. The final selection of the winner will be carried out by the Prize Committee, consisting of the Series Editors of the series
Studies in International Trade and Investment Law, and designated SIEL members.

The 2018 prize has now closed. The next prize will be awarded in 2020.